Joeleonhart’s Weblog

To Learn and To Share

Pilot`s eyesight!

An airline pilot with poor eyesight managed to pass his periodic vision exams by memorizing the eye charts beforehand.
One year, though, his doctor used a new chart that the pilot had never before seen. The pilot proceeded to recite the old chart and the doctor realized that he`d been suckered all these years. Then the doctor could not contain his curiosity. “How is it that someone with your eyesight can manage to pilot a plane at all? I mean, how for example do you taxi the plane out to the runway?”

“Well,” said the pilot, “it`s really not very hard. All you have to do is follow the instructions of the ground controller over the radio. And besides, the landmarks have all become quite familiar to me over the years.”
“I can understand that,” replied the doctor. “But what about the take- off?”
“Again, a simple procedure. I just aim the plane down the runway, go to full throttle, pull back on the stick, and off we go!”
“But once you`re aloft?”
“Oh, everything`s fully automated these days. The flight computer knows our destination, and all I have to do is hit the auto-pilot and the plane pretty much flies itself.”
“But I still don`t see how you land!”
“Oh, that`s the easiest part of all. All I do is use the airport`s radio beacon to get us on the proper glide path. Then I just throttle down and wait for the co-pilot to yell, `AIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!`, then I will pull the nose up, and the plane lands just fine!”

June 20, 2008 - Posted by | Humor

10 Comments »

  1. Why would he be flying, dude?

    Comment by Oliver | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. He’s a pilot, bro…😉

    Comment by Joe Leonhart | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yo Joe dog,

    That isn’t what I meant.. I meant..why was he flying if he had bad eyesight, you idiot. Read the article dude and then open your fat mouth..Chow..

    Comment by Oliver | July 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. well, well, well…
    don’t you understand the story?
    It’s about a pilot who managed to pass his periodic vision exams by memorizing the eye charts beforehand.
    And moreover, it’s just a joke, dude!!

    And who are you? Do I even know you?
    Please introduce yourself and please don’t use such rude words, bro!!

    I’m just a humble teacher and coordinator in schools located in Medan, Indonesia and I created this blog for all my students.
    So please don’t use those rude words here. It will give a bad influence to my students.

    And who is this “Chow” you are talking about???
    It seems that you hate him/her so much???

    Comment by Joe Leonhart | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Fat, idiot and mouth are rude words, Joey Poey? Wow, you’re a weirdo. And “chow” is another word for goodbye, obviously you don’t know that. Maybe you shouldn’t have said anything back to him, you know my friend? You kindof brought it on yourself.

    Students for what? Idiot Studies? Yeah, I bet you’re the host.

    Comment by Sara | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. It seems there is a misunderstanding here. Alright, I apologize if I misunderstand Oliver’s words. Coz I read them in a hurry and when I read he said “Yo, Joe dog”, I thought (in my mind) what a rude person he is. That’s all, ok? and I was in a bad mood then.
    So, no hard feeling, plz???
    I didn’t mean for being rude. And for the word “Chow”, I admit that I didn’t know its meaning.
    I’m still learning English, OK?

    Hope we all could be friends in the future.
    See ya..!!

    Comment by Joe Leonhart | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  7. Joe,

    Iam so sorry for my comment! I didn’t realize you were just learning English! I’m really sorry if I hurt your feelings or anything and if I was being rude. That’s neat that you live in Indonesia and you’re a teacher! I teach kindergarten in a private school. You seem like a very smart and nice person.
    Have a good day!

    Comment by Sara | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  8. Thank God that all these misunderstandings are resolved. Wow, so you teach kindergarten. I’m sure you are also a nice person with good personality, coz you like kids.
    I also like kids ^^

    Sometimes I also teach kindergarten kids words and simple sentences in English and they look quite happy and interested.

    You are welcome to share your teaching experience in my blog if you are interested. I will send my invitation, so that I and my friends could learn from you.
    heehehehe…

    Waiting 4 your reply soon.

    Comment by Joe Leonhart | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hey Joe,

    I have had a few teaching experiences. I actually taught my kindergarteners a few French phrases. I’ve also taught them art and science. Those are my favorite subjects. What do you usually teach your students? It sounds like you enjoy your job in Indonesia.

    Comment by Sara | August 23, 2008 | Reply

  10. Well, I don’t teach anymore (formally), coz I’m appointed to become a coordinator. So, I just do the management stuffs. Such as conducting meetings with all English teachers, etc.

    But I used to teach English before I was appointed as coordinator.
    So, sometimes if I miss the teaching activity, I would go to classrooms specially the kindergarten class, and then play with the kindergarteners and teach them some English words and phrases.

    I really enjoy it😉
    P.S. I’ve sent an invitation to your email, hope you’ll accept it and share your experience with us.

    Comment by Joe Leonhart | August 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

